Lack of Inspiration or Too Much?

So after reading such a wonderful novel (as was Throne of Glass) I was inspired to dive into my own writing yesterday but found that I couldn’t write a word whether it be new or to edit something that I have on the back burner. Today is the same and I’m sure that tomorrow will follow this pattern. This has always been my stumbling block. I have so many ideas. Too many ideas really and not enough will power to write them. I have a couple half-finished YA novels that I would REALLY like to get back to, but the problem is that I don’t know which one to start on. Add to that the fact that I have SO many new ideas and I feel lost in s sea of inspiration. I don’t know what I’m going to do.

While I think about what to do, I just don’t write and with each day that passes without me writing I feel more and more guilty. Last year I wrote SO much. 12 original stories, one of them being 50k and 27 stories of fan fiction, one of which was over 100k. This year, I’m reading a lot more. I’ve already read as many books this year as I did last year, but I do feel like I’m going stir crazy or something. The voices of my characters whisper in my head and while I want to sit down and write I find that I just can’t.

*facepalm* So what do I do when this happens? I read some more and then feel inspired to write my own stuff, and then the cycle starts all over again. So to those of you who do read my blog I ask this of you; what do you do when you find that you have too much inspiration that you can’t focus on one thing at a time, or too little inspiration that you find that you can’t write at all.

Leave a comment

Filed under inspiration, writing

Leave a Reply

