Throne of Glass

When magic has gone from the world, and a vicious king rules from his throne of glass, an assassin comes to the castle. She does not come to kill, but to win her freedom. If she can defeat twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition to find the greatest assassin in the land, she will become the King’s Champion and be released from prison. 

Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her.

And a princess from a foreign land will become the one thing Celaena never thought she’d have again: a friend.

But something evil dwells in the castle–and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying, horribly, one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival–and a desperate quest to root out the source of evil before it destroys her world.

Words cannot express how utterly amazed I am at this novel. I was one of those fictionpress readers who had the utter privilege of reading Sarah’s first draft of what was then known as “Queen of Glass” and even back then I knew that the story was breathtaking. Celaena Sardothien is by far and away one of the best characters that I have ever encountered in literary fiction and her story is just so jaw-dropping, awe-inspiring and breathtakingly wonderful that I read the novel in practically one sitting.

Reading the novel was like coming home to an old friend. Conversations and characters that had been half-rememebred were brought back to life with startling clarity. Chaol and Dorian become allies to Celaena, as does the foreign princess Nehemia. Other characters pop so wonderfully like Philippa the servant who is tasked to wait on Celaena while she is in the palace. And oh, her reasons for being in the palace. Plucked from the salt mines of Endovier, Celaena must fight against other would be “champions” to earn her freedom.

The novel is full of twists and turns and even though I had speculations on what was going on, I was still throughly amazed and awed at the end. The world that Sarah has created is rich and deep and leaves so much yet to be discovered. I am eagerly anticipating the second book in this series.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Throne of Glass

  1. You are unbelievably lucky to have gotten a advance copy of the novel…I have to wait until the release date in August. 😦

    But that said, I am beyond excited to read this novel. I’ve been waiting for it ever since she announced her decisionto publish it on FicPress. I’m glad the story is still as magical as you remember, it makes me all the more eager to get my own copy. 😀

    • Hi! Thanks for commenting! I just got ridiculously lucky that my local bookstore (where I just so happen to work now) put “Throne of Glass” on the shelves early. I asked the guy in shipping if it was supposed to be on the shelves and it wasn’t on his -Do Not Put Out- list so I was able to buy it. And you know the store is MORE magical because there are aspects of it which I didn’t touch on in my review which I don’t even remember. There were other moments however which I swear are word-for-word the same as when it was on fictionpress which was super amazing. It was like coming home to a half-forgotten friend which made the whole reading experience all the more enjoyable. ^_^ I finished the novel in like five hours over two sittings and I am absolutely ITCHING to get my hands on book two, but of course that’s going to be a while… :/

Leave a Reply

