Script Frenzy 2012

I don’t know whether it was because the Oscars were on last night or whether it’s because I have had very little luck in restarting my muse, but I am determined to participate for the first time in Script Frenzy. Script Frenzy is an off shoot of National Novel Writing Month and has been going on since 2007. The main point is to write a 100 page script in 30 days. That’s 3-4 pages of script per day and it sounds like just the distraction that I need right now. I’ve never done anything like this before, I don’t know what I’m going to write about and I don’t really know when I’m going to find the time but what I do know is that writing dialogue is usually the easiest thing for me. I know that when I read books I usually skim over the dialogue because I see the story playing out like a movie in my head and I know that when I write I picture it happening as I find the words sort of like the movie so who knows; maybe writing scripts is for me. Writing novels and short stories seems to have gotten me nowhere so far…

1 Comment

Filed under inspiration, national novel writing month, Script Frenzy, writing

One response to “Script Frenzy 2012

  1. mary

    I’m doing it for the first time too, although I have written scripts before (attending film school, contemplating screenwriting major.)
    The biggest thing is getting over the shock when switching from novels to scripts. All of a sudden, “showing” becomes the most important element and you begin to see stories in an entirely different way. Also, less is more when it comes to screenwriting, which can make it both easier and harder. It usually ends up being harder for me because I scratch five pages as the necessary sacrifice to obtain one good page. Still, it’s more rewarding than anything else I’ve done. Can’t wait to try it in this context. I’m sure you’ll do great. Nine wrimos down already, yikes. See you at Script Frenzy

Leave a Reply

