DAY TWENTY THREE AND THE HOMEWARD STRETCH

I have passed the 30k mark and am inching towards my goal. I have a mere and I say mere because I can’t believe how little I have left, but I have a mere 12k left. I’m past 38k and my novel is starting to take a downward turn towards the end of the story which is great! ^_^

Excerpt from today…

I HAVE THE CHILD. 3445 ROSEWOOD. COME ALONE

“Oh god…” Tessa muttered as she felt as though her entire world was spinning out of control. “They have Amy…”

“We know,”

Captain Morgan stated as he came to stand in front of Tessa. “We got this, just a few moments ago…”

Tessa looked up and saw that her boss was holding something in his hands. She took it and unfolded it and saw that it was an amber alert for her little girl. “I don’t understand,” she stated as she looked up at the faces that were staring at her. “The text message makes it seem like they’ve just taken her, but you received this a couple moments ago? And the case…” she continued forcing her mind to work rationally. “The Jane Doe was killed two days ago, Gordon O’Connor was killed yesterday morning and I was nearly killed yesterday afternoon. Whatever this is, it started a while ago…why would they do this,” she paused and indicated to the text message on her phone. “Now? Why not start the whole thing off like this?”

“Maybe they, whoever they are, had to wait to make sure that you were the right Tessa,” Eric suggested, causing all eyes to fall on him. “Like I said, there are a lot of you in the world.”

Tessa shook her head. “I don’t think so.”

“Maybe they didn’t really have the girl until now,” Alison suggested.

“Maybe they just caught her?” Grant added.

“You think that the adoptive parents have just given her up to the bad guys?” Captain Morgan asked.

“Or maybe they were just caught,” Jackson answered. “We knew that one of them went off the grid a couple months ago, and it’s more likely that they were caught now.”

Tessa shook her head. “This sounds like conjecture and speculation,” she pointed out. “Now I’m not saying that it’s not all possible, but I don’t really care about any speculation right now. This person, whoever they are wants to meet with me alone…and I’m going to do it.”

“No,” Jackson forbade. “You can not do that.”

Tessa looked at the man and thought that he was crazy. “How dare you—”

“—I’ve been working this case since the beginning. I’ve been following the threads and they’ve led me here,” he argued. “You are not messing this up for me.”

“Messing this up for you?” Tessa hissed. “How dare you…”

“Enough!” Captain Morgan ordered. “Jackson, once again— this is our case. Hart, this is your daughter but I advise against this.”

Tessa shook her head. “Forgive me sir but I’m not going listen to your advice.”

Captain Morgan nodded. “I wouldn’t expect anything less.”

“So what are you going to do?” Jackson asked bitterly.

“We are going to figure out a plan,” Captain Morgan answered coldly. “You can help us by lending your knowledge or you can go back to whatever hell you came from.”

Jackson laughed harshly. “You have no idea what you’re getting yourself into.”

Tessa glowered at him. “Then tell us.”

Jackson sighed, and Tessa figured that he realized that he was cornered. Well good, she told herself. Maybe now, we’ll get some answers.

Leave a comment

Filed under national novel writing month

Leave a Reply

