DAY SIXTEEN AND WE’RE HALFWAY THERE

I am now thankfully, halfway through my national novel writing month novel. At twenty five thousand and five words I can begin ever so slowly to wrap things up. It’s also the middle of the month (more or less) which means that I should be good to go come the back half of the month. And here’s an excerpt from what was written this morning to catch me up (partially);

“Sit down and relax,” Grant interjected. “Yeah, yeah…I know.” He sighed as he walked away from the desk, Alison close behind. They sat down a few feet from the nurses station, with their backs towards them so that they could talk uninhibited. “You know I know that they’re just doing their jobs, but you think that she could have been a bit nicer about the whole thing…”

Alison shook her head. “I think that she was being mighty nice.”

“Oh you think?”

“Yes I think,” Alison stated, looking around at the waiting family members with a sigh of her own. “And more than think, I know how hard it can be for them. Seeing dead and dying people every day of their lives? Having to deal with the grieving survivors…” she paused and shook her head. “I’m surprised that they’re not basket cases themselves.”

Grant turned to Alison, “You sound so—”

“Familiar with the situation?” Alison continued with a half smile. “Yeah well, I’ve spent the better part of my life in hospitals.”

“You haven’t been sick,” Grant asked worriedly. “Have you?””

Alison shook her head. “No.”

Leave a comment

Filed under national novel writing month, word count

Leave a Reply

