PROMPT 18 "LAST NIGHT"

“So are you going to tell me what happened last night?” she asked as her twin sister finally got out of the bathroom. Jessica and Sarah Hill were twins in every sense of the word. They looked the same, they dressed the same (most of the time) and they talked the same. The only distinguishing feature was that Jessica had blue eyes and Sarah had brown. They were the best of friends their entire lives and yet when high school came they found each other running in slightly different circles. “Or am I going to have to pry the answer out of you?”

“Last night…” Jessica sighed as she flopped onto her bed. “Last night I nearly kissed Henry.”

“Kissed?” Sarah exclaimed in utter shock. “You almost kissed him?”

Jessica nodded and buried her face in her pillow. “I know. I know!”

“Whatever possessed you to do such a thing?” Sarah asked. “He’s your best friend!”

“I know!” Jessica cried. “I know that Henry is my best friend. But he was just there and I was there and leaned over and kissed him…”

“Did he kiss you back?” Sarah inquired, wanting to know all the juicy details. “Did he?”

Jessica flopped over onto her back and looked at her sister with tears in her eyes.

“Oh sis,” Sarah began in a comforting tone. “He didn’t kiss you back?”

Jessica shook her head. “No he did kiss me back.”

“Then what’s the problem?”

“The problem is that Henry isn’t over Jenny yet,” Jessica stated with a sigh. “He kissed me and then told me that while I was a great girl that’s a lot of fun to be around he–“

“Likes you as a friend,” Sarah finished with a sigh of her own. “Oh the dreaded friend talk.”

Jessica nodded. “Now what do I do?”

Sarah shrugged his shoulders. “Try and get back with Chris?”

Jessica shook her head. “No way in hell.”

“Then what are you going to do?”

“Be patient?” asked Jessica with a shrug. “I like the guy. I’m willing to be patient.”

Sarah shook her head. “If you’re willing to be patient then all the power to you.”

Leave a comment

Filed under national novel writing month, write or die, writing prompt

Leave a Reply

