PROMPT 10 "Happy"

Happy, she couldn’t remember the last time she had actually been this happy. Her life up till now had just been one series of disappointments after another. From the time she entered school, right through for seventeen years it was one year of hell after another. Sometimes she wondered how she hadn’t ended it all before now. She still couldn’t quite grasp how she had found the inner strength to endure all that she had…

“I suppose I’ve just never been a quitter,” she told her psychologist once during one of their many, many sessions. “Quitting like that just seemed…pointless.”

And it would have been pointless. If she had ended it all years before she would have never met the man of her dreams. She would never had fallen in love. She would have never gotten engaged and she wouldn’t be standing in front of all her friends and family now, ready to give her speech.

“Friends,” she began, her voice choking up with emotion all ready. “Family, and dear loved ones. I have to say that I’m beyond words at this point. I never thought that this day would ever come, and now that it’s here I wish that it would never end.”

She paused and glanced down lovingly at her husband. “Jake and I are so thrilled that you’ve all taken time out of your busy schedules to celebrate our big day and we are so happy that you could join in our happiness,” she paused and turned to her husband. “Jacob darling, I love you. You make me happier than words and I can only hope that every day of our lives is filled with one fraction of the happiness that I’m experiencing right now because, if we can be as happy as we are now every day of our lives then we will be wanting of nothing. I love you, and I cherish you and I am so happy and–“

She choked up now and couldn’t speak any more. The gathered friends and family broke out into spontaneous applause and her husband passed her a tissue to dry her eyes of the happy tears.

Leave a comment

Filed under national novel writing month, words per minute, write or die, writing prompt

Leave a Reply

